The American Board of Anesthesiology® (ABA) was established by physicians in 1938 to certify practicing anesthesiologists. Our mission is to advance the highest standards of the practice of anesthesiology. We administer primary and subspecialty certification exams, and the Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology® (MOCA®) program. MOCA is designed to promote lifelong learning, a commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety.  We maintain a consistently high bar for our specialty, and our diplomates are committed to holding themselves to the highest standards.

We work to remain at the forefront of innovation to provide high-quality patient care. We are 50,000-plus practicing anesthesiologists, working together to provide the best care possible for every patient, every day. Learn more…

Contributor Bios

Dr. Warner-01

David O. Warner, M.D. ABA Secretary

Professor of Anesthesiology, clinician investigator and consultant, Department of Anesthesiology, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. ABA Committees: Credentialing and Continuing Certification, OSCE, ADVANCED Exam and STEEP Advisory

Artboard 4

Deborah J. Culley, M.D. ABA Director

Chair of Anesthesiology and critical care at Penn Medicine; associate professor of Anesthesiology at Harvard Medical School. ABA Committees: Credentialing and Continuing Certification and Research
Artboard 8

Mark T. Keegan, M.B., B.Ch. ABA Director

Professor of Anesthesiology and fulltime clinician, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn. ABA Committees: Assessments (chair), Nonstandard Exams (chair), In-Training Exam, Research, Standardized Oral Exam and Critical Care Medicine Exam

Artboard 7

Rupa J. Dainer, M.D., ABA Director

Medical director and chief strategy officer, Pediatrics Specialists of Virginia. ABA Committees: Standardized Oral Exam, Credentialing and Continuing Certification, Research, Pediatric Anesthesiology MOCA Minute and Pediatric Anesthesiology Exam

Dr. Macario-01

Alex Macario, M.D., M.B.A. ABA Director

Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, and, by courtesy, Health Research and Policy, Stanford University School of Medicine. ABA Committees: Research, Credentialing and Continuing Certification and OSCE

Amanda Kirzner-01


Amanda Kirzner, D.O.

Dr. Kirzner is a board-certified anesthesiologist working on Long Island, New York. She completed her residency training at SUNY Downstate Medical Center. 

S. Maggie Coffield-01


Maggie Coffield, D.O.

Dr. Coffield is a current pediatric anesthesiology fellow at Lurie Children’s Hospital in Chicago. At the completion of her fellowship, she will be joining the faculty of Arkansas Children’s Hospital as an Assistant Professor.

Amy Pearson-01


Amy Pearson, M.D.

Dr. Pearson is an assistant professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Iowa. She is the current president of Women in Anesthesiology.

Emma L. Swanson-01


Emma L. Swanson, M.D., M.S.

Dr. Swanson is currently chief resident at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

Artboard 1

Mukesh Sahu, M.D.

Dr. Sahu is a board-certified anesthesiologist who attended medical school at UCSF before completing his anesthesiology residency at UC Davis Medical Center.  He has been in practice in Sacramento, CA for just over ten years, enjoying a diverse case load at a busy hospital within the Kaiser Permanente Health System.

Dr. Lumbley-01

Josh Lumbley, M.D., MBOE, FASA Chief Quality Officer, NorthStar Anesthesia

​Dr. Lumbley is an experienced private practitioner and holds a master’s degree in Business Operational Excellence from The Ohio State University.  Dr. Lumbley was previously a fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science, informing congressional health policy and most recently served as Senior Vice President of Physician Services and Chief Medical Officer for NorthStar’s North Division. He lives in Columbus, OH with his wife, Katie, and their two daughters, Emma (7) and Arden (4).

Post 2-01

Mark Warner, M.D.

Dr. Warner is a professor of anesthesiology at the Mayo Clinic. In his institution, he has served as chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, the physician leader of its hospitals, executive dean of its College of Medicine and Science, and a member of its Board of Governors.

Dr. Warner has served in the leadership of several national anesthesiology organizations. He is a past president of the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the American Board of Anesthesiology, and the Academy of Anesthesiology. He currently serves as president of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation.


George S. Bause, M.D., M.P.H., D.A.B.A.

Dr. Bause earned his M.P.H. (Epidemiology) and M.D. from Johns Hopkins University. Following his Hopkins rotating internship and residency in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, he drafted America’s first fellowship in geriatric anesthesiology (1984-85, NIH-Hopkins). After teaching at Yale (1985-92) as an associate professor, Dr. Bause served in Cleveland as both Whitacre Director of Anesthesiology Education at historic Huron (Road) Hospital and clinical associate professor in the Case Western Reserve University Schools of Medicine and Dental Medicine. After founding anesthesia departmental museums at Johns Hopkins and at Yale, Dr. Bause has served as the honorary curator (1987-current) of the ASA’s Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology (WLM). He has shipped or hand-carried rare books or anesthesia antiques back to the WLM from all seven continents. Dr. Bause has also served as an associate editor of Anesthesiology, a guest editor of Anesthesia & Analgesia, and as founding deputy editor of the Journal of Anesthesia History. Some of his 900-plus publications on the history of anesthesia have garnered awards, including multiple David Little, Jr., Prizes (USA) as well as the inaugural David Zuck Memorial Prize (UK). In 2016, the internationally constituted WLM Laureate Committee honored Dr. Bause as a Laureate of the History of Anesthesia. He received the WLM’s Distinguished Service Award in 2019. Dr. Bause is a proud Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Community Commenting Guidelines

Comments about ABA blog posts are welcomed and will be moderated (held for review before posting) to ensure the content is appropriate and relevant. Readers posting comments should adhere to the following guidelines to encourage meaningful conversations about the blogs’ content:

  • Readers must identify themselves by first and last name in comment submissions. We will not post anonymous comments or those made using what appear to be fake names.
  • We ask that readers posting comments be respectful of their colleagues. Comments that harass or badger blog posters will not be posted.
  • Comments that include profanity and/or topics that are deemed generally offensive will not be posted. This includes language that is abusive, libelous, threatening or pornographic.
  • Comments that attack individual physicians will not be posted.
  • Comments that contain personal information about an individual that is unrelated or only tangentially related to a blog post will not be posted.
  • Spam comments and those that are solely promotional will not be posted.
  • Comments should be relevant to the post topic.

We reserve the right to edit or delete comments without notice. This comment policy is subject to change at any time. If you have any questions on the commenting policy, please email us at